World travel market 2011

Every year I look forward to the sights smells and tastes of my world tour round Excel but what I don’t look forward to is the horrendous journey from West London. I am pleased to say that this year they got it right, no hold ups on the DLR, and I even got a seat on the Jubilee Line!

An even bigger surprise was that the layout was also right at long last. For the first time since WTM has been at Excel, the whole of Europe was on one side with UK and Africa and on the other side Canada USA Central and South America Caribbean Asia Middle East and finally hotels and technology, so much easier to find things and so much more logical

The show began on Monday and that is my day for collecting information for clients and also for spending time in Europe which tends to get overlooked later in the week. I normally spend Monday negotiating and meeting contacts old and new

On Tuesday there were a few competitions so I did as many as I could to try and win an exotic trip, shopping vouchers or goody bags with delicious food and fragrant toiletries from other countries

On Wednesday we.had an hour long Caribbean training session presented by destinations and hotel groups and afterwards we participated in the Caribbean Treasure Hunt. In the afternoon I met two QPR players Jay Bothroyd and Jason Puncheon

Leave a Reply

