Short Break Season

Short Breaks have never been easier. In the past I would sit at my desk with a Travelscene or Paris Travel brochure amongst others and organise the traditional yearly spring break to Paris as late as possible in March on a 3 nights for the price of 2 deal or people wanting the same over Easter!

Even 10 years ago requests were quite predictable, Paris, Rome, Venice, Bruges.Since the advent of Eurostar and low cost airlines more people just hop over for a weekend at more or less anytime so the average is probably two or three a year and not necessarily to these destinations, but spring and autumn are still the most popular times when cities are not too hot and sticky nor covered in ice.

Travel Counsellors were delighted to receive the Observer and Guardian readers award of Short Break Operator for 2010. As we are independent, it means We can put almost anything together using a combination of Eurostar, scheduled airlines and low cost airlines so twin or multi centre itineraries are no problem. Almost any combination is possible, providing there is transport available to get you there. I rarely work from brochures for short breaks unless they have an exceptional offer

Whenever I do a short break, I learn so much about the destination while doing the research which is really interesting. I have even bought a Paris Metro app for my phone as this helps me to direct my clients from Gare du Nord to their hotel or to get from Gare du Nord to Gare to Lyon for a connection, but I still have to use a good old fashioned map as well, so I keep a selection of them in my office

Breaking from the traditional, the last few breaks I have organised have been to Bordeaux, where my brief was to be as close as possible to a specific street, a hen night in Edinburgh where I needed to get a centrally located but affordable hotel, Bournemouth where I needed a family friendly hotel, a weekend spa break, Manchester and Glasgow where I needed central hotels with free wi-fi, Nice, Treviso, our clan gathering in Ennis, Galway, Dublin, New York, Boston, Paphos, Salzburg, Munich, Prague, Stockholm and last but not least. The more familiar Rome.,Venice and Paris.

Many of these destinations or requirements cannot be plucked from a brochure and although you could book online it isn’t easy to establish where the hotels are or whether they are acceptable. I check all this for you using a combination of personal experience as I am very well travelled, feedback from sources such as trip advisor and maps. I also contact the hotels directly or use my many contacts to advise them of any special requirements or get the best rooms for you wherever possible. Of course this is very time consuming, so I do charge a fee for my services but this is fair and modest

If you are interested in booking a short break this Autumn please contact me on 0845 058 7458 or cathie.odea@travelcounsellors.com or feel free to browse my web page first

Leave a Reply

